1938 Delage D8-120 De Villars Roadster Wins at 2023 Audrain Newport Concours

1938 Delage D8-120 De Villars Roadster Wins at 2023 Audrain Newport Concours

Historic vehicles from around the world once again gathered on the beautiful lawn of The Breakers Mansion Sunday for the 2023 Audrain Newport Concours & Motor Week, with the magnificent 1938 Delage D8-120 De Villars Roadster owned by Mr. Fritz Burkard collecting the coveted ‘Best of Show’ and the Curvaceous & Streamlined trophies.

The top-winning Delage D8-120 Roadster was built by the coachbuilding firm of De Villars of Courbevoie, France. It is a flamboyant design that reflects both the industrialization of Europe and the Art Deco era. The De Villars Company became well known for the extraordinary quality of its designs as well as the execution of the final product.

The D8-120 was introduced in Paris in October of 1938, and it quickly became “the queen of international Concours d’Elegance.” The current owner, Fritz Burkard, bought the Delage in 2019, and it has recently been shown at Concours on both sides of the Atlantic.

Jay Leno talking to the audience

“It was a truly outstanding day that I am sure will be long remembered by many for its class winners and a truly amazing ‘Best in Show’ winner, which was driven over 300 miles from Vermont to the show by its owner,” said Audrain CEO Donald Osborne.

“I am sure everyone will come away with new memories that will not soon be forgotten. My hope is that everyone who attended this year will come away with a newfound love for our area, our city and the hospitality they received. We will continue to look for new ways to enhance future Motor Weeks further and continue to strengthen our place in the global concours world as a must-attend event.”

With 65 prominent judges from five countries and 180 cars from across the USA and Europe, the Concours was held at The Breakers mansion, the most famous of the ‘Newport Cottages’ and former home of the Vanderbilt family. Not only were the Vanderbilt’s prominent Newport socialites but numbered among them Willie K. Vanderbilt, one of the greatest car enthusiasts of the early twentieth century.

The trophies on a table

Class winners:

  • 30 Under 30 Pre-1965 – 1963 Triumph Herald 1200 Convertible owned by Denton Owen
  • 30 Under 30 1960s and 1970s – 1967 Volkswagen Kombi Bus Station Wagon owned by Adam Carceller
  • 30 Under 30 1980s and 1990s – 1983 Porsche 944 Coupe owned by Austin Spooner
  • 30 Under 30 1980s and 1990s Special Award – 1998 Suzuki X-90 Coupe owned by Henry Drayton
  • American 1928 to 1933 – 1929 Rolls Royce Phantom–Brewster Derby Speedster owned by Stephen Brauer
  • American 1934 to 1940 – 1934 Cadillac Stationary Coupe owned by Don Ghareeb
  • American 1940 to 1955 – 1954 Packard Caribbean Convertible by The Sweezey Collection by Parker’s Packards
  • American 1955 to 1975 – 1966 Chevrolet Fitch Sprint Corvair owned by Bryan Lamotte
  • British Icons – 1935 Riley MPH–Sprite Roadster owned by The Frank Rubino Collection
  • Chrysler’s Forward Look – 1956 Chrysler New Yorker Convertible Coupe owned by John R. and Lynne K. Cote
  • Curvaceous & Streamlined – 1938 Delage D8-120 “De Villars” Roadster owned by Fritz Burkard
  • European 1920 to 1940 – 1927 Mercedes-Benz Model K Open Roadster owned by Michael and Joannie Rich
  • European 1945 to 1960 – 1953 Delahaye 135 MS CL Speciale Faget-Varnet owned by Anthony Colle
  • European 1960 to 1980 – 1961 Maserati 3500 GT Coupe owned by John Johnson
  • Racing Sports Cars – 1953 Ferrari 250 MM Berlinetta 0258MM owned by Brian Ross
  • Little Gems – 1946 Fiat 1100 Frua Spider owned by Don Bernstein and Pat Taylor
  • MG 1930s – 1932 MG F1 Magna Stiles Special Threesome owned by Matt Emmens
  • MG 1945 to 1965 – 1954 MG TF Roadster owned by Lisa and German Garcia
  • Post-War Sports – 1963 Shelby American Cobra Mk I Roadster owned by Lewis B. Pollard
  • Style & Speed – 1965 Lamborghini 350 GT Coupe owned by Doug Cohen
  • Veteran – 1912 Simplex 50HP Torpedo Tourer owned by Singleton Collection
  • Touring Motorcycles – 1938 Harley-Davidson owned by Cindy Mesmer
  • Competition Motorcycles – 1955 Fratelli Ferrari 150cc Cafe Racer owned by Chris Mauro

Among the other special awards given were the Simeone Trophy for Historic Presence that went to Bruce McCaw for his 1952 Mercedes-Benz W194 300 SL, the overall winner of that year’s 24 Hours of Le Mans.

The Colin Foote Family Project Award was presented to John Holzscheiter for his 1972 BMW E9 3.5 CS. The ‘Most Elegant’ award went to Tom McGough for his 1937 Delahaye 135 M. The ‘Hagerty Youth Judges’ award went to the 1903 Grout Model J owned by Bill and Sarah Cook.

The ‘Timeless Luxury’ award was presented to Helen and Jack Nethercutt by Wilhelm Schmid, CEO of Presenting Sponsor A. Lange & Söhne for their 1933 Duesenberg SJ, “The Twenty Grand.” The ‘Chairmans Choice Award’ this year went to the 1953 Nardi 750 Roadster owned by Edward Gregory.

The ‘Design Award’ was presented to Mark F. O’Neil for his 1953 Fiat 8V Supersonic. The ‘Sporting Choice’ prize was awarded to Lawrence Auriana for his 1947 Cisitalia 202 MM Aerodynamica. The ‘Founder’s Award’ in 2023 went to Merle and Peter Mullin for their 1937 Delahaye 135.

The next Audrain’s Newport Concours d’Elegance will be held on Sunday, October 6th, as a part of the 2024 Concours & Motor Week beginning on October 3rd.

A group of children posing for a photograph

About the Audrain Newport Concours & Motor Week
The annual Audrain Newport Concours & Motor Week celebrates the diversity, elegance, and timelessness of classic and modern vehicles and the people who bond with them.

With a week’s worth of incredible car showcases, alongside a plethora of fun gatherings, seminars, and other luxurious events, the Audrain Newport Concours & Motor Week is sure to entertain, with all events leading up to the finale of the week, the Concours d’Elegance.

The Concours d’Elegance features multiple classes of meticulously cared-for cars that have had a significant impact on automotive history.

Read more motoring news and features here.

1938 Delage D8-120 De Villars Roadster Wins at 2023 Audrain Newport Concours 2

Editorial Team

The independent luxury magazine showcasing the finest and most luxurious things in life. Luxurious Magazine travels the world visiting the best resorts, hotel and restaurants to see whether they warrant the 'Luxurious Magazine' seal of approval. We also feature the latest news, finest products and services, luxury events and talk to leading personalities and celebrities.

error: Copying this content is prohibited by Luxurious Magazine®